The official MYTHIC BATTLES: PANTHEON message board.
 
HomeCalendarFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 The end of a units activation

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Teowulff
Villager
avatar

Posts : 81
Join date : 2016-12-29
Location : Netherlands

PostSubject: The end of a units activation   1st January 2017, 1:54 pm

Some cards say "At the end of its activation .. "

What does this mean, exactly? Does using this power end this units activation?
Or can this power only be used after performing simple actions?
Or ... ?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Fenrie
Villager
avatar

Posts : 16
Join date : 2016-12-30
Age : 27
Location : France

PostSubject: Re: The end of a units activation   1st January 2017, 2:09 pm

The end of activation comes after performing simple actions (and maybe use powers) or after a complex action.
For example with Hydra :
- Hydra runs (= complex action) then it's the end of its activation. > It recovers 1 Vitality
- Hydra moves and attacks or uses its "Onslaught" power as an attack (= 2 simples actions) then it's the end of its activation > It recovers 1 Vitality
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Teowulff
Villager
avatar

Posts : 81
Join date : 2016-12-29
Location : Netherlands

PostSubject: Re: The end of a units activation   1st January 2017, 3:41 pm

But does this mean that using any power saying "at the end of its activation" actually ends its activation?

Some units have multiple powers that say "at the end of its activation .. ", like the Chimera.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Fenrie
Villager
avatar

Posts : 16
Join date : 2016-12-30
Age : 27
Location : France

PostSubject: Re: The end of a units activation   1st January 2017, 4:25 pm

Teowulff wrote:
But does this mean that using any power saying "at the end of its activation" actually ends its activation?

No, you can use these powers after the end of activation. In fact, it's an exception to the normal activation sequence.
For Chimera, these powers allow you to attacks 3 times. Once during the activation (normal attack) and twice with their powers after the normal activation sequence.

I hope i'm clear, English isn't my native language Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Kalack99
Villager


Posts : 49
Join date : 2016-12-29
Location : Bloomington, IL

PostSubject: Re: The end of a units activation   1st January 2017, 4:52 pm

It literally means after the unit has finished everything else it was doing and just before play moves on from it, the unit's "at end of activation" effects happen.

So you could have moved, attacked or even claimed an Omphalos and then just before play moves on from that unit, ie the end of their activation, that is when they happen.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Biel
Spartan


Posts : 108
Join date : 2016-12-29

PostSubject: Re: The end of a units activation   1st January 2017, 5:22 pm

Fenrie wrote:
The end of activation comes after performing simple actions (and maybe use powers) or after a complex action.
For example with Hydra :
- Hydra runs (= complex action) then it's the end of its activation. > It recovers 1 Vitality
- Hydra moves and attacks or uses its "Onslaught" power as an attack (= 2 simples actions) then it's the end of its activation > It recovers 1 Vitality
After a complex action, Hydra doesn't recovers 1 Vitality, Regenerate is a power.
Or, page 18 of the Rulebook v20g : "Performing a Special action doesn’t allow the Unit to use either its Talents or its Powers.
A Unit can perform one, and only one, Special action. Moreover, it will not be able to use a Talent or a Power this turn."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Garshell
Spartan
avatar

Posts : 141
Join date : 2016-12-29
Location : Toulouse

PostSubject: Re: The end of a units activation   1st January 2017, 7:07 pm

You are right Biel, no recovery for the hydra after a Run =)) or any otehr Complex action.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Fenrie
Villager
avatar

Posts : 16
Join date : 2016-12-30
Age : 27
Location : France

PostSubject: Re: The end of a units activation   1st January 2017, 7:24 pm

I'm looking the beta2.1 from QW :

Quote :
2) Activate a unit.
a.Select a unit that has not yet activated in this turn.
b.Discard 1 activation card for thatunit.
c.Decide whether to take simple or complex actions with the unit.
i.Simple : go to B2d.
ii.Complex: resolve 1 complex action and go to B3.A unit that is taking a complex action cannot use any talents or powers during their activation

"During their activation" is important. Power which are performing at the end of the activation are not concerned by this limitation. Hydra can't use Onslaught if it perform a complex action but it would be able to use Regenerate because it's after its activation and not during it.

Any official answer is welcome ! Cool

Edit :
Quote :
f.Resolve any powers that occur at the end of the unit’s activation
This effect appears before B3 so i'm wrong and you're right but a wording most clear could be useful ! Perhaps a precision at stage B2cii : "including the powers that take place at the end of activation"
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Kalack99
Villager


Posts : 49
Join date : 2016-12-29
Location : Bloomington, IL

PostSubject: Re: The end of a units activation   1st January 2017, 10:39 pm

@Fenrie **BONUS**
This is precisely what I was pointing out. I agree that either they should clarify this in a definition of "end of activation effects" or have this clearly stated in the sequence. Personally, I think either way it works. You could say that certain things happen despite their activity or that they have pushed themselves and so cannot do them. Just need to know the original intension. @QW ??
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Voice of Olympus
Herald
avatar

Posts : 382
Join date : 2016-12-29

PostSubject: Re: The end of a units activation   1st January 2017, 10:59 pm

Please have a look at the beta 2.2 as that should be clearer.

A unit that does a complex action is treated as having no talents and only detrimental powers. So, the Hydra cannot regenerate if it does a complex action because it is treated as not having that power.

If a unit does a simple action then it can use as many "at the end of its activation" powers as it has available in the appropriate step of the turn sequence (B6 or C6).

A power that happens in these "end of activation" steps cannot be used at other times, so if you use it at all you are declaring that you have got to this step, by definition ending that unit's activation.

Back to top Go down
View user profile
Teowulff
Villager
avatar

Posts : 81
Join date : 2016-12-29
Location : Netherlands

PostSubject: Re: The end of a units activation   2nd January 2017, 12:27 pm

Voice of Olympus wrote:


If a unit does a simple action then it can use as many "at the end of its activation" powers as it has available in the appropriate step of the turn sequence (B6 or C6).

A power that happens in these "end of activation" steps cannot be used at other times, so if you use it at all you are declaring that you have got to this step, by definition ending that unit's activation.

Good news! Cool  That makes the Chimera a truely devestating offensive beast!!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Voice of Olympus
Herald
avatar

Posts : 382
Join date : 2016-12-29

PostSubject: Re: The end of a units activation   2nd January 2017, 12:28 pm

Oh yes - as long as you can feed it AoW cards.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Fenrie
Villager
avatar

Posts : 16
Join date : 2016-12-30
Age : 27
Location : France

PostSubject: Re: The end of a units activation   2nd January 2017, 12:55 pm

@QW Can you tell us more about powers which will have Detrimental ? I suppose that will only include "bad" effects like Ajax's power or can I hope something better ? Twisted Evil
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Voice of Olympus
Herald
avatar

Posts : 382
Join date : 2016-12-29

PostSubject: Re: The end of a units activation   2nd January 2017, 1:05 pm

Bad stuff, basically (hence the name). We've not got a final list yet.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: The end of a units activation   

Back to top Go down
 
The end of a units activation
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Gas Tank sending units rebuilt .........
» door catch on units
» Gas Tank sending units rebuilt ........
» Japanese engineer repairs ABS1 units
» Need a new AC unit

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
A GOOD PLACE :: Mythic Battles: Pantheon :: Gameplay-
Jump to: