The official MYTHIC BATTLES: PANTHEON message board.
 
HomeCalendarFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 ENG rule book corrections and errata

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Voice of Olympus
Herald
avatar

Posts : 384
Join date : 2016-12-29

PostSubject: ENG rule book corrections and errata   31st August 2017, 10:42 am

This thread is to collate all corrections for the first printing of the English Mythic Battles: Pantheon rule book in one place. Please post anything you find below and I will edit this initial post to keep the list up to date.

The first edit will be once I get home from the Mythic Day, next week. Until then I will respond to comments in the thread.

The files are here: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/806316071/mythic-battles-pantheon/posts/1975607

To date, the reported issues are typos rather than important rules mistakes. Several of the reported errors are actually intentional, and not errors at all Smile

Page Xxx: mistake
Back to top Go down
View user profile
uthin
Villager


Posts : 8
Join date : 2017-02-15

PostSubject: Re: ENG rule book corrections and errata   31st August 2017, 5:45 pm

Hi Quirk,

As you wanted, I'm posting my findings here. Looking forward to your comments.

---------------------

p4
"Some rules are designed to overwrite others”. Should be using “override” instead of “overwrite”.

p5
Below the terrain types it says “Area’s terrain types”. I believe the apostrophe should be moved like this: “Areas’ terrain types”.

p7
Question: troops can only use their talents when they are full/unwounded. Really?

p8
In the Choose a scenario section: isn’t the singularis “one die" and not “one dice"?

p9
- Recruit an army, Follow these steps, Step 3: “anticlockwise” is wrong. It is called “counterclockwise”.
- Recruit an army, Follow these steps, Step 3e: “anticlockwise” is wrong. It is called “counterclockwise”.
- Set up the table, Follow these steps, Step 6: “Then each player counts the total strategic value of all of those units, ” should be “Then each player adds the strategic value of all of those units together, ” instead.

p15
Terrain type “Slope". This is called “Stairs" on page 3.
Terrain type “Swamp (Aquatic)” is just called “Swamp” on page 3.
Terrain type “Tartarus Cage” has an apostrophe on page 3: “Tartarus’ Cage”.
Terrain type “Wall” is not even mentioned on the list on page 3. Should it be?
Terrain type “Water (Aquatic)” is just called “Water” on page 3.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Adam Adam
Villager
avatar

Posts : 29
Join date : 2016-12-30
Location : Austin, TX

PostSubject: Re: ENG rule book corrections and errata   31st August 2017, 6:09 pm

p18
"Any remaining dice that do not cause a wound may be set aside. Each..." - This paragraph is repeated in its entirety on p19.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
uthin
Villager


Posts : 8
Join date : 2017-02-15

PostSubject: Re: ENG rule book corrections and errata   31st August 2017, 9:09 pm

p18
3. Retaliation, 3rd paragraph: it seems there is a space between un and it in “unit”.

p21
Multiple Attack, 3rd paragraph: “in an order chosen be the attack”. Should be “in an order chosen by the attacker”.
Multiple Attack, 3rd paragraph: “Continue to do this until either the attack is no longer”. Should be “Continue to do this until either the attacker is no longer”.
Multiple Attack, 3rd paragraph: “or all original target units have been attack once”. Should be “or all original target units have been attacked once”.

p36
area: “In the centre are a symbol” must be “In the centre is a symbol”.

p38
Stat: “Stats are always written in italics with a capital letter.” But the examples, offence and defence are not written with a capital letter in the rulebook.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
azhagmorglum
Villager


Posts : 2
Join date : 2016-12-31

PostSubject: Re: ENG rule book corrections and errata   1st September 2017, 9:28 pm

Page 27, leader

If you activate a unit thanks to leader, does it count or not towards the maximum activations of units per turn ?

For both own units and allied units it says yes, but in the french version it says it doesn't count for an allied unit.
Which version is correct ?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Ryo
Villager


Posts : 23
Join date : 2016-12-29

PostSubject: Re: ENG rule book corrections and errata   4th September 2017, 7:04 pm

Page 14:
The background image of Open Ground seems to be Forest.

Page 14: Highs's bonus. [Edited: I saw the unboxing video of BOW, and I found my misunderstanding.]
Maybe, the Highs' bonus applies to the attacks from any higher area to any lower area. The Highs boundary seems to divide the map into two areas (higher areas and lower areas). Any area behind the arrowhead (including the areas do not have the Highs boundary) is higher than any area in front of the arrowhead (including the areas do not have the Highs boundary). Is it right?

Page16:
"Flying units may also evade range 0 attacks. See page 25."

If the rule in page 25 is correct, it should be "Flying units may also evade attacks by units with a range of 0-1. See page 25."

Page 19:
"When calculating modifiers, add up all that apply. If a single modifier is greater than +2 or worse than -2, then that is the maximum possible bonus/penalty. Otherwise, the total effect cannot be worse than -2, or greater than +2."

Does this rule apply to troops' special rules (entry 7 on page 7, you called it Mass Effect in the past)?

In the case of a complete Spartan, it gains +3 offence bonus. If the rule applies to this bonus, is this bonus considered to be one modifier, or three +1 modifier?

Page 28-34: Tales of ancient Legends
The "melee" attacks and "ranged" attacks are used. However, in the current rules, these terms are not used. Maybe, "melee" and "ranged" should be chaged to "range 0 attack" and "range 1+ attack", respectively.

Page 29: Athena's 2nd Paragraph
"the latter offering her Medusa’s head, which she fixed to her shield as a protection from spells."

Those who offered Athena Medusa's head is Perseus. But "the latter" seems to indicate Theseus and the name of Perseus is not listed here.

Page 34: Medusa's 2nd Paragraph
Those who petrified Atlas with Medusa’s head may be Perseus, not "Theseus."


Last edited by Ryo on 5th September 2017, 2:50 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile
uthin
Villager


Posts : 8
Join date : 2017-02-15

PostSubject: Re: ENG rule book corrections and errata   4th September 2017, 10:01 pm

Page 15:
Terrain type Ruins, is it correct that all areas of type Ruins will have two ruined columns? Just to be sure, so there will be a total of 16 ruined colums on the Styx map? I believe there are only 10 ruined columns in the core box, correct?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Ryo
Villager


Posts : 23
Join date : 2016-12-29

PostSubject: Re: ENG rule book corrections and errata   25th September 2017, 12:58 am

Page 14 & 15: 3D elements entry of Forest and Ruins.

The rules say "2 x ....". This means the maximum number of 3D elements in one area is two? Maybe you can choose to place only one 3D element in an area and I think it is better to make it clear somewhere in the rule.

By the way, in the former rule, you could place three 3D elements per area. Did you change this rule?

Page 14: Lava - Dormant.

It is said that "a unit cannot end a turn in this area." Thus, it is seemed that a unit can walk, run, or deploy into the dormant lava. Does dormant lava damage effect apply to the unit immediately after the unit enter the area, or at the end of turn if the unit remains in lava?

If the lava damage and forced movement is an end-of-turn effect, the unit can jump over the lava without these negative effects of lava (as BoW video shows, the unit can jump over the dormant lava by spending two movement point).

Also, if the effect is an end-of-turn effect, a unit without fireproof can enter into the dormant lava and make an range 0 attack against the fireproof unit there, and then the unit will take lava damage and be moved into an adjacent no-lava area. Is this interpretation right?

Page 15: The last sentence of Rift.
"Each rift area costs 2 of the unit’s movement to enter."

Viewing the unboxing video, the play aid does not mention this rule (2 movement per a rift area). French version also does not seem to mention this rule.

Is this rule alive?

Page 26: Force of Nature.

When this unit attacks in the area with two 3D elements, can the unit gain +2 bonus by removing two 3D elements?

I stumbled on this question and I'm happy if you would clarify this point.

Thank you for your reading.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Formorach
Villager


Posts : 1
Join date : 2017-09-29

PostSubject: Re: ENG rule book corrections and errata   29th September 2017, 6:32 pm

Hi Uthin

Just a quick note on the anti-clockwise/counterclockwise thing... "Anticlockwise" is the English meaning of the US word "counterclockwise".

As such, the original text is perfectly fine as the rulebook will be available in English, but not necessarily US English Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Jorge Castro
Villager
avatar

Posts : 7
Join date : 2016-12-31

PostSubject: Re: ENG rule book corrections and errata   27th October 2017, 10:52 pm

Not sure if this needs correcting or not, but I will add it just to be sure. Per the current rules: flying units can readily attack (range 1+) over Impassable (Red Line) walls, yet they don't seem to be allowed to move over said Impassable walls. Although Leo clearly stated otherwise on September 2nd or 3rd during the Mythic Day 2017. Not only that, but it seems against the spirit of the game to allow flying units unrestricted access over rocks and cliffs, but not wall?

It seems that maybe the intent was to keep flying units from landing on wall tops… this could have been addressed by making a walls area’s capacity 0, instead of surrounding walls by impassable boundary?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Jorge Castro
Villager
avatar

Posts : 7
Join date : 2016-12-31

PostSubject: Re: ENG rule book corrections and errata   1st November 2017, 1:24 pm

Ryo wrote:
Page 15: The last sentence of Rift.
"Each rift area costs 2 of the unit’s movement to enter."

Viewing the unboxing video, the play aid does not mention this rule (2 movement per a rift area). French version also does not seem to mention this rule.

Is this rule alive?

Per QW, this seems to be a very odd way of stating the following: "The cost of 2 is for both entering and leaving. You must have 2 move left in order to enter as you must be able to leave also. It's not 2 to enter and a third to leave."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Jorge Castro
Villager
avatar

Posts : 7
Join date : 2016-12-31

PostSubject: Re: ENG rule book corrections and errata   1st November 2017, 1:31 pm

Ryo wrote:
Page 19:
"When calculating modifiers, add up all that apply. If a single modifier is greater than +2 or worse than -2, then that is the maximum possible bonus/penalty. Otherwise, the total effect cannot be worse than -2, or greater than +2."

Does this rule apply to troops' special rules (entry 7 on page 7, you called it Mass Effect in the past)?

In the case of a complete Spartan, it gains +3 offence bonus. If the rule applies to this bonus, is this bonus considered to be one modifier, or three +1 modifier?

Maybe this one would make more sense if you'd read it as following:
"...If a single modifier is greater than +2 or worse than -2, then that (single modifier) is the maximum possible bonus/penalty. Otherwise..."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Jorge Castro
Villager
avatar

Posts : 7
Join date : 2016-12-31

PostSubject: Re: ENG rule book corrections and errata   1st November 2017, 1:33 pm

azhagmorglum wrote:
Page 27, leader

If you activate a unit thanks to leader, does it count or not towards the maximum activations of units per turn ?

For both own units and allied units it says yes, but in the french version it says it doesn't count for an allied unit.
Which version is correct ?
Per QW, Leader: the ENG rules are correct.

French seem to have a typo there.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Jorge Castro
Villager
avatar

Posts : 7
Join date : 2016-12-31

PostSubject: Re: ENG rule book corrections and errata   7th November 2017, 2:50 pm

Page 16, "Combat Sequence" is missing any reference to declaring and Evade maneuver.

Possibly should be declare either guard or evade, although not sure what prevents this from turning into an infinite cycle of attack/guard/evade/attack/guard/evade... other than common sense.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: ENG rule book corrections and errata   

Back to top Go down
 
ENG rule book corrections and errata
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» UIL rules for high school soccer
» Do it yourself custom van book
» VANS A BOOK OF ROLLING ROOMS
» The Complete Van book
» Was it somebody on this site that said Doug Stone was doing a NSW prospecting book ?

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
A GOOD PLACE :: Mythic Battles: Pantheon :: Gameplay-
Jump to: