The official MYTHIC BATTLES: PANTHEON message board.
 
HomeCalendarFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Ares' abilities question

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Long N
Villager


Posts : 3
Join date : 2017-01-18
Location : California, USA

PostSubject: Ares' abilities question   12th February 2017, 11:30 pm

Hi, not sure if this was asked and answered before regarding Ares (if so I apologize for redundancy) but his two abilities reads:

Ares' Wrath (Active): At the end of Ares' activation, target all enemy units in his area

Frenzy (Passive): Once per turn, at the end of his activation, you may activate Ares a second time by discarding 1 of his activation cards. This does not count as an extra activation.

So once you activate Ares, you move then attack, his activation ends triggering Ares' Wrath, then triggering Frenzy to activate Ares a second time, he moves and attack, his activation ends triggering Ares' Wrath a second time?

So in total, Ares can attack 4 times or did I misunderstand the abilities? The Frenzy passive says it "does not count as an extra activation" so I'm assuming you can still discard an AOW card to activate another unit.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Pseudonyme
Villager
avatar

Posts : 88
Join date : 2016-12-29
Location : Paris

PostSubject: Re: Ares' abilities question   12th February 2017, 11:51 pm

As I was told during the MBP party in Paris, Wrath is only triggered once.
I think that like most things in MBP, you can only do a particular action once per turn. The second activation of Ares is an exception.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Long N
Villager


Posts : 3
Join date : 2017-01-18
Location : California, USA

PostSubject: Re: Ares' abilities question   13th February 2017, 12:35 am

So then should Ares' Wrath ability also say "Once per turn" like his Frenzy ability?

I still think this is very strong as Ares can attack 3 times if Wrath is only activated once.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Biel
Spartan


Posts : 108
Join date : 2016-12-29

PostSubject: Re: Ares' abilities question   13th February 2017, 1:32 am

Beta Rules 2.8, p.18 : Each manoeuvre can only be bought once per turn (regardless of whose turn it currently is). However, note that each different power that is invoked counts as a different manoeuvre. Wink
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Garshell
Spartan
avatar

Posts : 141
Join date : 2016-12-29
Location : Toulouse

PostSubject: Re: Ares' abilities question   13th February 2017, 9:16 am

Wrath can be activate at the end of Ares activation, so you can't activate Frenzy after a Wrath.
That s why you can see "At the end" in Wrath's power.
So you can only do 3 attack in total :
Normal atk (1st) + Frenzy (power) + Normal atk (2nd) + Wrath (power) atk (3rd)

@biel: this has nothing to do with manoeuvre. Frenzy didn't count as 2nd activation.
You mean, "maybe", power can be use once per activation, without any other specification like "once per turn", per game, etc.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Biel
Spartan


Posts : 108
Join date : 2016-12-29

PostSubject: Re: Ares' abilities question   13th February 2017, 7:39 pm

I disagree with you Garshell :
- To invoke a power is a manoeuvre, just take a look at the beta rules 2.9 p26 or 2.8 p18.
- And nothing say you can't invoke a Wrath after a Frenzy. Both powers are "at the end of his activation". That point should be more precise.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Garshell
Spartan
avatar

Posts : 141
Join date : 2016-12-29
Location : Toulouse

PostSubject: Re: Ares' abilities question   14th February 2017, 10:09 am

If both are at the end of the activation so you can only do one at a time, because each power will end the actual activation.
Simply as that.
And about manoeuvre, yes you are right i didn't check this change. My bad.

In the rules we have this too:
Quote :
Resolving Timing Clashes
If two or more powers (or any other effects) happen during the same step, the active player decides the order in which they will be resolved. Each one must be resolved entirely before the next begins.
They are both at the end, but if we resolved one entierely, then we can't play the other.
So this rules states for all same timing except "at the end"... or ?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Ares' abilities question   

Back to top Go down
 
Ares' abilities question
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Pulley Question
» grip strength advice..ask david horne any question on grip training....
» Level Adjust Question
» Best forum question and answer ever!!!!
» Water and waste tanks question

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
A GOOD PLACE :: Mythic Battles: Pantheon :: Gameplay-
Jump to: