So in a play through the other night my buddy and I were questioning how to calculate range.
He was playing Atalanta up on one of the rock units thereby making her range 3 (2 + 1).
The rules state that you are to use the center point of an area to the center point of another area. So when the straight line would pass through just a sliver of an area it seemed a little ridiculous to limit the range because of that.
See the red and yellow lines in the image. Attacking from the rocks you could potentially have 3 range for your attacks.
- In the case of the red line you'd be passing through 3 areas before reaching the forest area (3). -- So it would seem you couldn't reach that area with an attack range of 3.
- In the case of the yellow line you'd have roughly the same result even with the line just barely crossing into the (4) area.
- In the case of the blue line (assuming you have a range of 2) you couldn't attack from the forest to the ruins area because you would incur your 2 range from the (5) and (4) areas before reaching your destination.
Does this seem correct?