The official MYTHIC BATTLES: PANTHEON message board.
 
HomeCalendarFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Rules :: Dice Roll Attack

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Adam Adam
Villager


Posts : 19
Join date : 2016-12-30
Location : Austin, TX

PostSubject: Rules :: Dice Roll Attack   4th January 2017, 7:47 pm

Something I couldn't quite determine from the Rulebook about the dice rolling mechanic. Please see example and then question below...

Example:
Atalanta (5 dice attack) attacks the Minotaur (7 defense) and for her first roll:
5, 5, 5, 1, 0

She chooses to re-roll the three 5's, setting aside the 1 as a +1 to her next roll.

Her second roll of the three 5's ends up:
1, 1, 1

She then assigns her dice as such:
5 + 1 + 1(original roll 1 held) = 7 (hit 1)
5 + 1 + 1(re-roll 1 from extra 5) = 7 (hit 2)

The question boils down to - are the dice that are re-rolled from 5's allowed to be assigned freely, or are they locked into their original 5?

Thanks
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Garshell
Spartan


Posts : 118
Join date : 2016-12-29
Location : Toulouse

PostSubject: Re: Rules :: Dice Roll Attack   4th January 2017, 8:57 pm

Assigned freely. I play it like this since the begining ^^
Back to top Go down
View user profile
b1ackwolf
Villager


Posts : 6
Join date : 2016-12-30
Age : 25

PostSubject: Re: Rules :: Dice Roll Attack   5th January 2017, 11:51 pm

I thought you could only spend dies from the first roll to increase the value! On the second roll you must accept the new value and you can add the dices you set aside from the first roll...
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Peps
Villager


Posts : 65
Join date : 2016-12-31
Age : 41
Location : South of France

PostSubject: Re: Rules :: Dice Roll Attack   6th January 2017, 9:21 am

Garshell wrote:
Assigned freely. I play it like this since the begining ^^

Same for me, so I agree!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Cap7deuce
Villager


Posts : 15
Join date : 2016-12-31

PostSubject: Re: Rules :: Dice Roll Attack   6th January 2017, 10:20 am

b1ackwolf wrote:
I thought you could only spend dies from the first roll to increase the value! On the second roll you must accept the new value and you can add the dices you set aside from the first roll...

I recall this also. Arrow
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Telgar
Spartan


Posts : 119
Join date : 2016-12-31
Location : Paris

PostSubject: Re: Rules :: Dice Roll Attack   6th January 2017, 10:23 am

Your description (assign freely) is my understanding of the dice system.
Let's see how it will be described in the rules...
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://the-overlord.com/
Teowulff
Villager


Posts : 81
Join date : 2016-12-29
Location : Netherlands

PostSubject: Re: Rules :: Dice Roll Attack   6th January 2017, 11:29 am

In the rulebook p.22 it is explicitely mentioned that the "exploded" re-rolls can also be added/assigned freely

In the example against defense=7, the player rolls 4 5s.
Re-rolls: 1 1 3 5
Which would make a 10 8 6 and 6
Now the player adds the two 1s for an additional hit.

So yes, it's 100% allowed.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Voice of Olympus
Herald


Posts : 358
Join date : 2016-12-29

PostSubject: Re: Rules :: Dice Roll Attack   6th January 2017, 12:57 pm

Yup. Definitely allowed.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Cryocat
Villager


Posts : 62
Join date : 2016-12-29

PostSubject: Re: Rules :: Dice Roll Attack   6th January 2017, 1:16 pm

Teowulff wrote:
In the rulebook p.22 it is explicitely mentioned that the "exploded" re-rolls can also be added/assigned freely

In the example against defense=7, the player rolls 4 5s.
Re-rolls: 1 1 3 5
Which would make a 10 8 6 and 6
Now the player adds the two 1s for an additional hit.

So yes, it's 100% allowed.

I am confused, are you saying you are adding one of the sixes to the other six to get the result of 7?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Telgar
Spartan


Posts : 119
Join date : 2016-12-31
Location : Paris

PostSubject: Re: Rules :: Dice Roll Attack   6th January 2017, 2:03 pm

Cryocat wrote:
Teowulff wrote:
In the rulebook p.22 it is explicitely mentioned that the "exploded" re-rolls can also be added/assigned freely

In the example against defense=7, the player rolls 4 5s.
Re-rolls: 1 1 3 5
Which would make a 10 8 6 and 6
Now the player adds the two 1s for an additional hit.

So yes, it's 100% allowed.

I am confused, are you saying you are adding one of the sixes to the other six to get the result of 7?

That's it. You are actually not using a "1" do create a 6 but to add to another "6".
So your final result is 10 8 7 (5+1+1)
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://the-overlord.com/
Orword
Villager


Posts : 45
Join date : 2016-12-30
Location : Hades

PostSubject: Re: Rules :: Dice Roll Attack   6th January 2017, 2:43 pm

Cryocat wrote:
I am confused, are you saying you are adding one of the sixes to the other six to get the result of 7?

Look at it this way: any dice showing a number between 1 and 5 can be set aside to add 1 to the result of another, regardless of the assault you're in. This is one of the things that'll need to be very clear in the new rulebook.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Voice of Olympus
Herald


Posts : 358
Join date : 2016-12-29

PostSubject: Re: Rules :: Dice Roll Attack   6th January 2017, 3:49 pm

Agreed
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Biel
Villager


Posts : 96
Join date : 2016-12-29

PostSubject: Re: Rules :: Dice Roll Attack   6th January 2017, 4:02 pm

[quote="Orword"]
Cryocat wrote:
any dice showing a number between 1 and 5 can be set aside to add 1 to the result of another, regardless of the assault you're in.
How you write it looks very concise and clear Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Rules :: Dice Roll Attack   

Back to top Go down
 
Rules :: Dice Roll Attack
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» International Rules 2010
» Rules of the Touge
» The Real Jersey Rules
» Club Rules and Guidelines
» Rules-R-Rules but this is stupid le

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
A GOOD PLACE :: Mythic Battles: Pantheon :: Gameplay-
Jump to: